How Can You Know You Have Heard From God

Thank you for stopping by. As always it is a privilege to have you here. I would like you to get a cup of coffee, relax on the sofa and kick your feet up as we dig into the Word of God.

As a Christian after salvation and baptism, one of the biggest challenges we face is hearing from God. Not because He’s not speaking but because we need to learn to have ears that hear. Math 11:15, Mark4:9. How do we develop ears that hear and why?

Let’s first answer why. Let’s face it, once we’re saved the questions then become, who am I? And, what am I called to do or what am I created for? Why am I here?  These questions or rather the answers to these questions are what point us to our purpose. The answers to these questions may determine what we do for the rest of our lives. And the only way to know the answers to these questions is by seeking the One with the answers, Jesus.

When it comes to building character the Bible is the best and sole place for instruction. If you need direction on patience 1Thes5:4, James5:7-8, hope Heb. 6:11, 10-20, perseverance Romans 5:3-4, 2Cor 12:12. Don’t lie, steal, and commit adultery or murder Math 19:18. Be loving, patient, kind, selfless, do not boast and keep no record of wrongs 1Cor 13, Gal5:22-23.

What about the questions that aren’t so obvious? Such as, what am I called to do? Ephesians 4:11-16 11 And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, 12 for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ, […]16by which every part does its share, causes growth of the body for the edifying of itself in love. To know the answers to these questions we need to seek and ask Him. Deut. 4:29, Jer. 29:13, Math7:7.  And as we are seeking and asking Him, how can we know we have heard from Him? That’s the big one, how can we know we have heard from God?

One good way is to keep a journal. This has been very helpful for me. I keep a journal of things the Lord has said to me. This is a format I use:

In this journal I write

1.  What the Lord said to me.

2. I ask for confirmation from His word.

3. I seek personal trusted godly counsel.

4. Lastly I write down what happens and compare it to the confirmation from His word and from godly people. The reasons I do this are that I am looking for consistency in my ability to hear and I am continually developing listening ears.

The best way to hear the voice of God is practice.

Thank you for joining me on this journey through hearing and listening to the voice of God. My prayer is that this has been helpful and encouraging to you. You are welcome to leave comments as well as insight on what helps you know you hear the Lord.

If this has been helpful to you, please share on Facebook and Twitter so others can enjoy it too! Thank you!!

Blessings,

Shannon

faithxwrite

Leave a Reply

